PELLSTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Minutes

Regular Board of Education Meeting Board of Education Conference Room 7:00 p.m.

Monday, March 9, 2015

A regular meeting of the Board of Education of Pellston Public Schools was held in the Gerald E. Mallory Board of Education Conference Room on Monday, March 9, 2015. Members present: Kathy Smith, Kristen Bauer-Frye, John Ritter, Jim Milbrandt, Mark Zink, Rob Thomson and Sheila Moran.

President Smith called the regular meeting to order at 7:00pm.

The *Pledge of Allegiance* and moment of reflection were led by Rob Thomson.

Student Spotlight

Ms. Saddison's second grade (6 students) presented how their class incorporates technology via augmented reality/magic. Students individually demonstrated to board members how scanning the book opened a book synopsis video clip.

Information/Presentation(s):

Bruce Spychalski gave a detailed report on food service (report filed with minutes).

Elton Laura's Transportation and Athletic reports were reviewed and he went over some updates later in the meeting (report filed with minutes).

Trust & Agency: prepared by Michelle Ferris (report filed with minutes).

Parent Teacher Organization meeting documents for the board to review were submitted by Kim Jutson (documents filed with minutes).

Administrator Highlights

Tamara Pichla gave an Elementary Principal Report (to be filed with the minutes). She gave a detailed explanation of the new online teacher observation/evaluation tool (PIVOT) that is being used to track and enhance feedback for teacher observations.

Enos Bacon, III gave a MS/HS Principal Report (to be filed with the minutes). He thanked Mark Zink for providing snacks and the Catholic Church for lending tables for the ACT testing.

Public Commentary

Tory Taylor announced that the first Saturday of K-2 basketball had gotten off to a great start

with 52 participants, which allowed for 6 teams.

Correspondence

The board acknowledged and thanked Robert Haines, a Littlefield Public Schools graduate, for gift subscriptions to Kids National Geographic, Forbes and USA Today.

Old Business

<u>New Business</u>
The board acknowledged the Superintendent Evaluation for the 2014-2015 school year as being highly effective.

President Smith announced that the inductees chosen for the Hall of Fame were John D. McLarty and Marcella Ruch. The Hall of Fame dinner is scheduled for Thursday, April 30 at 6:00pm.

President Kathy Smith read aloud the resolution acknowledging the 2015 OPIE (Outstanding People in Education) recipients Paraprofessional Melissa Kube and 4th Grade Teacher Sandy deCastro. The OPIE banquet will be held May 7, 2015, in the Ovation Hall at the Odawa Casino Resort in Petoskey.

Approval of Consent Agenda Items

It was motioned by Sheila Moran, supported by Mark Zink, "that the Consent Agenda Items for the March 9, 2015 meeting of the Board of Education will be adopted, as presented".

A. Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion: that the Board of Education approves the regular minutes from the February 9, 2015 board meeting.

B. Business and Finance Items

Motion: that the Board of Education approves payment of Gross Payrolls for March 20, April 3 and April 17, 2015; Benefits and Utilities and ACH transfers from March 9, 2015 – April 20, 2015.

C. Personnel Items

Motion: "that the Board of Education, approve as recommended by Elton Laura, Athletic Director, spring sport coaches for Varsity Track grades 7-12; Chelsey Herrmann and Caitlin Ritter, and Girls JV Softball; Mark Wagenschutz".

The motion carried 7-0.

Curriculum Reports/Assignment

Superintendent Dean talked to the board about the Certified Board Award Information that is offered through the Michigan Association of School Boards. She encouraged board members to consider the classes offered.

She also spoke about free seminars that will be offered by Thrun Law Firm P.C., on April 23.

Jim Milbrandt supported by Mark Zink motioned to move into closed session at 8:15pm.

John Ritter supported by Sheila Moran motioned to go back into open session at 8:40pm.

Adjournment
It was moved by John Ritter and supported by Kristen Bauer-Frye to adjourn the meeting at 8:41pm. The meeting adjourned.